Is AFC West the best quarterback division ever?

AFC West is set to become an arms race (throwing).

Undeniably, no division stacks up on the quarterback like the divisions with Kansas City, Denver, one of the Los Angeles and Las Vegas teams.

Patrick Mahomes has led the Chiefs to at least the AFC title in each of his four seasons as a starter, winning the Super Bowl and MVP along the way. Justin Herbert is perhaps the best Under-25 quarterback in the league, having almost led the Chargers to the playoffs in his second season. Derek Carr’s strong 2021 campaign catapulted the Raiders into the postseason, and finally, Russell Wilson, long considered one of the elite quarterbacks, joined a Broncos squad laden with talent on both sides of the ball.

With four top-10 quarterbacks in the division, including one that many pundits rank No. 1 overall (Mahomes), Colin Cowherd this week took the plunge and said that AFC West is the best quarterback division in league history.

Cowherd points to the fact that Mahomes had the highest passer rating of all time, Wilson had the most wins of any QB during their first 10 seasons, Herbert had the most yards and TDs during the signal-caller’s first two seasons, and Carr led the NFL in fourth-quarter comebacks since entering the league. in 2014.

“It’s incredible in my life that this is the greatest and most talented quarterback division ever – and it’s not close,” Cowherd said. “There have never been four elite quarterbacks, in my life, elite quarterbacks [in the same division].”

Derek Carr doesn’t mind the Raiders being the ‘underdogs’ of AFC West

Derek Carr doesn't mind the Raiders being the 'underdogs' of AFC West

Colin Cowherd shares his thoughts on the ‘underdog’ Las Vegas Raiders and the stacked AFC West quarterback ladder.

Statistically, Cowherd wasn’t wrong to say that AFC West could potentially have four superstars in the bottom half. Each of them has been statically among the best in the league over the last four seasons — or two in Herbert’s case.

Mahomes has the most yard passes (18,707), touchdown passes (151) and is the third best passer rank (106.2) in the league since he started the Chiefs in 2018.

Wilson was fourth in passing TDs (131) and second in passer rating (106.3) during the span. And between Mahomes and Wilson, AFC West is the only division to have many Super Bowl-winning QBs.

Herbert has established himself as one of the best quarterbacks in two seasons of his career. He is third in the league in passing yards (9,350) and fifth in passing touchdowns (69) since 2020.

Carr is perhaps the most questionable quarterback to be included in Cowherd’s top 10. He is 17th in passer ratings (97.3) and 14th in touchdown passing (90) since 2018. Even so, he is fourth in both yards (17,010) and finishes (1,518).

When the season starts, four quarterbacks can make history. AFC West 2022 will be the first division to have four quarterbacks with a feeder rating of at least 90 (Mahomes 105.8, Wilson 101.8, Herbert 97.9, Carr 92.4), per NFL Research.

Oddsmakers also view the four players very highly. FOX Bet listed Mahomes as the favorite to win MVP (+500) in 2022 when the channel first opened in February. Herbert currently has the fourth best odds for the award at FOX Bet (+1000), while Wilson is tied for sixth (+1200). Carr has the 11th best chance (+3300).

Get more from the National Football League Follow your favorites for information on games, news and more.

Is AFC West the best quarterback division ever?

Source link Is AFC West the best quarterback division ever?

Back to top button